Jump to main navigation. Jump to main content

Ann Masten Named 2011–2012 Fesler-Lampert Chair

Photo of Ann Masten

Ann Masten, 2011-2012 Fesler-Lampert Chair in Urban and Regional Affairs

April 25, 2011
Contact person: 

Ann Masten, Distinguished McKnight University Professor at the Institute of Child Development, has been named the 2011–2012 Fesler-Lampert Chair in Urban and Regional Affairs. The Fesler-Lampert Chair in Urban and Regional Affairs is one of four endowed chairs made possible through the generosity and vision of David and Elizabeth Fesler. The endowment is intended to stimulate interdisciplinary research and teaching through the appointment of distinguished, broadly learned scholars to endowed faculty positions at the University of Minnesota.

Masten has taught at the University of Minnesota since 1986. For the last several decades, her research has focused on risk and resilience among homeless and highly mobile children, particularly as they relate to educational achievement and developmental outcomes important for long-term health and well-being. The resources provided by her appointment as Fesler-Lampert Chair will allow Masten and her colleagues to initiate a new phase of community-based collaborative work focused on promoting school readiness and success among homeless and highly mobile children through interventions to build executive function skills, which are increasingly recognized as critical to educational success. The overall goal of this work is to build capacity and strategies for addressing the striking disparities that Masten and her colleagues have documented in the Minneapolis Public Schools (MPS) related to poverty and homeless and highly mobile status.

The Fesler-Lampert Endowment was created to honor David Fesler’s grandfathers, Bert Fesler and Jacob Lampert. The Fesler-Lampert Chair in Urban and Regional Affairs is appointed for a one-year period and receives approximately $40,000 for research, salary, and logistical support. The funds are jointly administered by the University of Minnesota Foundation and the University of Minnesota.